Week 1. Pasta with Eggs and Bacon (Carbonara)

For my first New Recipe Night I decided to make something quick.

One of the key reasons I introduced New Recipe Night was to find tasty new meals to make during the week, rather than spending all night on dinner.

cupboard love

I first bought Cupboard Love for my mother, mostly because I thought she’d like the idea of making simple but tasty meals from things in your larder.  She wasn’t keen and I don’t think she’s ever actually used it.  I got my copy about six months’ later from a charity shop, and it’s one of the few books I own that I’d actually cooked from… but only two recipes!

The first recipe chapter is Pasta, and that’s where I decided to start.  At the bottom of page 25 is a recipe called Pasta with Egg and Bacon (Carbonara) The recipe says “The speed and ease with which this meal comes together is something I’ve never managed to get blase about.  Make it tonight.” so I did.

I won’t lie to you, I was surprised at how quickly it was ready.  One moment the pasta was boiling and I was stirring egg yolks and frying bacon, the next I was stirring everything into the drained pasta and it was off to the table.  Wham!

pasta eggs and bacon

It was very very tasty.  It was a little richer than I’m used to; which is unsurprising considering the amount of egg yolks and butter and cheese that go into it… but I would definitely make it again.

The only downside to the recipe is it requires three egg yolks for two servings – and I didn’t like to waste the whites so I ended up hand-whisking meringues at 9pm… but on spare-yolks-day I would not hesitate to make this for a quick lunch/dinner.

Cupboard Love by Tom Norrington-Davies (Hodder & Stoughton 2005 ISBN 0 340 83525 5)

3 comments

  1. Aww thank you! I have 9 weeks worth of New Recipe Night to catch up on! I made small meringues, they were meant to be nests but ended up as blobs, they were OK but went a bit brown.
    I read in one of the baking books that egg whites can be frozen and used later – I don’t know if its something I’ll try because there’s barely room for an icecube tray and a bag of ovenchips in my freezer! I just need to plan better (yeah right)

Leave a Reply

