Puttanescapades!

Sounds like a Friday night out on the town, but actually its just a normal night in my flat.  No keys were put in any bowls.

The other week I made Nadia G’s Spaghetti Alla Puttanesca (Spaghetti like a whore would make https://newrecipenight.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/week-18-spaghe…lla-puttanesca/ ) which was lovely, a proper after-work dinner (especially if you’re a hooker I should imagine)

Then last week this happened: http://www.buzzfeed.com/catesevilla/nigella-lawsons-perfect-response-to-trinny-woodalls-domestic and I thought how interesting it would be to try another cooks recipe of the same dish.  So tonight I would like to introduce the first irregular New Recipe Night Recipe Fight.  I toyed with calling it the first Putta Fight, but I don’t think there are that many variations on Spaghetti alla Puttanesca, and you’d all get bored reading about spaghetti with olives, capers, tomato and anchovies; even if I dressed up specially.

So here we are with a different cooks take on Spaghetti like a whore would make.  Nigella’s “Slut’s spaghetti” from her Kitchen book (page 188).

The main difference (the only difference actually) is that Nigella uses a tin of tomatoes whereas Nadia uses cherry tomatoes, and Nigella uses pitted black olives where as Nadia G uses Kalamata Olives.  Nigella also gives the option of using picked red jalapenos instead of chilli flakes, but I didn’t have any.

The two recipes went together identically, if I was cooking for four I would prefer using the tinned tomatoes, but as its just me and the lover I had half a tin of tomatoes in the fridge for a couple of days.  Having said that, Nigella does say that the sauce can be made and kept for two days in the fridge/three months in the freezer; which might be my answer to slovenly after work cooking!

Pre-pitted olives from a jar are a boon.  I like the kalamata olives, but in my Sainsbury’s they only come whole from the deli and I have to pit them myself, which is a nuisance, and a non-putta activity…

A winner?  Tough one?  In a street fight I reckon Nadia G would win, because she’s very ghetto (and twenty years younger) but there’s something about the convenience of all of Nigella’s ingredients being in tins and jars that makes her version appeal to me more, as much as I like the whole cherry tomatoes.

Ultimately I’ll probably end up making a hybrid of the two, but one things for certain: next time I make it I shall definitely “serve in slatternly style, preferably with an untipped cigarette clamped between crimson painted lips”  Shkoff!

Kitchen, by Nigella Lawson (Chatto & Windus 2010, ISBN 9780701184605)

One comment

Leave a Reply

