Week 22: Cheesy Chilli

I know I’ve done chilli before, but the book fell open at this recipe during the other week’s puttanescapades (https://newrecipenight.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/slut-vs-putta/). So I thought I’d give it a whirl, and see how it compared against the other chilli’s in my life.

It won.  This recipe actually won above all the recipes I’ve cooked in weeks!  I think after a few weeks of being an almost vegetarian, the massive amount of meat Nigella asks for gave me some sort of carnivorous euphoria.

To make this chilli (to serve 4-6),  you will need 110g chorizo, 500g beef mince, 1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder, 1 tablespoon (15ml) tomato puree (or sundried tomato paste – which I didn’t have), 400g can chopped tomatoes, 2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce, 400g can kidney beans, 2 x 125g mozzarella balls, salt, pepper and optional coriander to taste.

First up, I chopped up the chorizo and put it in the pan, then added the mince when the oil started to come out of the chorizo.

Once the mince stops looking raw, add the cocoa powder, oregano and puree/paste and mix it all up. Then add all the other ingredients (except the cheese) and bring to a bubble

Turn the heat down low and simmer for 20 minutes.  What I adore about Nigella’s Kitchen book is that she’ll give a recipe that makes for six, and then tells you which bits you can freeze/refrigerate, and tells you where to stop and freeze.  Normally I would try to halve a recipe so as just to cook for my lover and I, but this time I thought “No!  Nigella knows best!”: so I made the chilli for six and froze half of it:

When the freezer portion has been taken out of the pot, turn up the heat to get it bubbling, chop up the mozzarella and stir it in, season and stir.

I bought baked potatoes to have with this, and then when I was heating the pan to start off the chorizo I realised that I had completely forgotten to put them in the oven… so we had it with rice:

Cheesychilli5

Did I mention that this is my favourite meaty chilli recipe?  I loved the Hairy Bikers Chilli from week 3 (https://newrecipenight.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/week-3-chilli-con-carne/) which is much more vegetable based; Nigella’s chilli was much less hot – no hiccups from me!  I know I said this about the week 3 chilli, but I will definitely make this again.. I just wish I had a bigger freezer!

Nigella writes much better instructions than me, so if you see a copy of Kitchen for sale anywhere buy it, and if its already sat on your bookshelf its on page 31!  YUM!

Nigella Kitchen

Kitchen, by Nigella Lawson (Chatto & Windus 2010, ISBN 9780701184605)

3 comments

Leave a Reply

