Week 67: Poulet aux champignons avec une sauce au vin blanc

Which as we all know means Chicken and Mushrooms in a White Wine Sauce. Yep, I reached for Rachel Khoo again!

Apparently this is a French classic. I dont think I’ve had it, whenever we went to France as kids The Poisoner insisted in going self catered so the only proper homemade French food I’ve had has had terrible things done to it.

I was keen to give this a try, it’s very adaptable and is good with fish and veg. I think I once had it in a little buffet in Paris with a sausage, some carrot and a pile of rice; but it could have been something else.  I ate so badly that trip.

This recipe serves four, so I sort of halved all the quantities for me and him.

For the sauce you will need: 30g butter, 30g plain flour, 450ml chicken stock (lukewarm), 125ml dry white wine, 4tbs double cream, and 1tsp lemon juice.

I had the sauce with chicken and mushroom as follows: 500g chicken breast cut into chunks, 250g button mushrooms (I could only get closed cup) peeled and sliced, a knob of butter, and finely chopped tarragon to serve.

So I’ll write this up quick because wordpress has already lost this once!  The sauce is the hardest but the most versatile part of this dish; melt the butter in  large pan over a medium heat and add the flour.  Beat the flour and butter until it forms a smooth paste.  Mine never did this so I think this is where I went wrong, it kinda went into hard balls which I eventually broke down by jabbing them with the whisk.  Take the pan off the heat and slowly add the stock, constantly whisking it into the paste.

khoochicken8

Put the pan back onto the heat to simmer for 10 minutes.  Whisk it frequently to make sure it doesn’t stick and burn onto the bottom.  If it gets too thick add more stock – I did this but it didn’t work, maybe I should have added more?  Add the wine and simmer for another 10 minutes.

khoochicken5

khoochicken6

If you’re serving this with chicken now is the time to melt a knob of butter in a large frying pan.  Once it starts for sizzle add the chicken and fry for a few minutes until golden.  Throw in the mushrooms and fry for another 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked.  By now the sauce should also be pretty much done, so take it off the heat and stir in the cream and lemon juice.  Mix in the chicken and mushrooms, stir, and serve with rice or pasta with some chopped tarragon or parsley artfully lobbed on top.

khoochicken4

So it tasted good.  I’m not going to boast about how my first go at a french cause was the biggest success my little kitchen has ever witnessed… in-fact I used a less rib-sticking mixture to glue together my Tracey Island in 1993.  My lover joked that I had found a recipe for chewing gum. Also, it didn’t look much like the picture in the book, mostly because I need to cut the chicken up bigger and I don’t own a bit rustic pot.  It tasted lovely though, I’ll definitely try making it again; try make it not bounce.

khoochicken2

I really aught to use Rachel Khoo’s Little Paris Kitchen more often!

The Little Paris Kitchen by Rachel Khoo (Penguin Books 2012 ISBN: 978-0-718-15811-8)

Little Paris Kitchen

12 comments

    1. Aww thank you! Yes definitely buy it! It’s a great book with mouth watering pictures – I don’t think I’ve made anything that didn’t taste good no matter how badly I cooked it. She did a follow up book of regional french/rustic meals too, but I’ve not got that yet…

    1. Awww thank you Aunt Juju! It might have been me suggesting the book, I think I’ve taken a few along to Fiesta Friday – the book still has my favourite ever quiche recipe 🙂 🙂

    1. Thanks Jhuls! It was definitely one of the tastiest thing I’ve made in a while – once I get the sauce right 🙂
      I’m looking forward to the anniversary – I did my cooking last night!

Leave a Reply

