Week 70: Thai Vegetable Curry

Its a while since I did something for the vegetarians.  I’ve had a very meaty January, but I was making the Thai Chickpea Curry from the Cupboard Love book last week and this one is on the page opposite (and covered in curry)

This curry comes as a kind of two for one, with a separate set of ingredients for summer veg and ‘warming autumnal’ veg. I though about swapping some of the autumn ingredients to winter ones, but my lover said if I dished up another sprout before December he’d beat me with it… So I stuck to the veg selection in the book.

When I went shopping I asked the veg boy if they sold Field Mushrooms, and the boy said “all mushrooms grow in fields innit bruv?”

I just got normal closed cup.

To make this autumnal curry for two you will need: 100g shallots (whole but peeled), 2 red peppers (thinly sliced), 200g butternut squash (peeled and diced), 3 or 4 large field mushrooms (thinly sliced), 2tbs vegetable oil, 1 big tablespoon of Green Thai Curry Paste, a 400ml tin of coconut milk, 1tbs Thai fish sauce, half a teaspoon of sugar, the juice of half a lime, the grated zest of 1 lime (or three lime leaves), and some coriander to look pretty.

I’d just bought a knife sharpening thing so I was pretty keen to wrestle a butternut squash, and it cut really well! I wish I’d been able to get pre-cut squash, I’ve still got most of it in the fridge and it keeps staring me out like an Easter Island head.

thaiveg01

Once you’ve got the veg all cut up heat the oil in the wok and add the veg once it’s hot. Stir-fry it over a high heat for a couple of minutes then add the curry paste and two tablespoons of the coconut milk, stir it all together until the all the veg is covered in the sauce.

thaiveg2

Add the remaining coconut milk, then half fill the tin with water and add that too with the fish sauce, lime juice, sugar and lime leaves.  Simmer until the veg is tender and serve with rice.

thaiveg03

This dish doesn’t look very nice when it’s being cooked, I had a panick halfway through simmering it because it looked like I’d been sick in the wok. I think that might have been because of the peppers and sauce, but it looked loads better by the time it was done.

thaiveg05

So we sat down to eat it and I realised it was almost exactly the same curry as I made last week, but with veg instead of chicken. But it was still delicious. If I make it again I think I’d put the peppers in much later than the rest of the veg, because while the squash, mushrooms and shallots were nicely cooked the peppers were slimey.

thaiveg04

But it was good – I’d definitely make it again 🙂

Cupboard Love by Tom Norrington-Davies (Hodder & Stoughton 2005 ISBN 0 340 83525 5)

cupboard love

2 comments

  1. Ha! Your mushroom-buying story reminds me of the time the Other Half asked the fish chap in Sainsbo’s where their prawns came from. Reply: ‘From the sea.’ Yeah, thanks for that…

Leave a Reply

