Week 74: Flash-Fried Steak with White Bean Mash

I won’t lie to you, last week was a long, hard and tiring to make.  I also had Moussaka three times.  When it came to actually getting the pans out at the end of the week for some tomato-ey pasta I realised that I needed to add something new and quick to my week-night repertoire.  Something lightning quick I could whip up before sitting in my chair and watching Geordie Shore re-runs and Netflix boxsets with a pack of biscuits until bedtime when I get in from work.

Speedy meals without making my kitchen look like a bombs gone off you say?  Step aside Jamie, this sounds like a job for Nigella!  The ‘Against the Clock’ chapter of the Kitchen Express book hasn’t let me down yet; it contains some of my favourite recipes, and this week is no exception.  Flash-Fried Steak with White Bean Mash shares a chapter with Mirin-Glazed Salmon, Gammon Steaks with Parsley, and Chicken Schnitzel with Bacon and White Wine.  If I had the courage to lob a scollop at my lover I reckon I could finish the chapter off.  All the pages stick together I’ve used this section so much.

I got slightly confused in Sainsbury’s when they did’t sell a tin that said ‘White Beans’ and they don’t have a signal in there so I couldn’t look it up – so I compromised and got a tin of Butter Beans and a tin of Cannelli Beans, just to see which was best.

steak09

To make this for 4  you will need: 60ml Olive Oil, 1 clove of garlic, 1 sprig fresh rosemary (optional, I left it out), 1 lemon (grated zest and juice), 3 x 410 cans white beans, 4 thin cut sirloin/entrecote steaks (anbout 150g each), and some salt to taste.  Nigella recommends just using two tins of beans if you’re only cooking for 2, and that’s what I did.

steak06

First put 60ml of olive oil into a saucepan with the crushed clove of garlic, the rosemary if you’re using it, and the lemon zest.  Warm it through and then fish out the rosemary, saving it for later.

steak04

Drain the beans and wash them thoroughly until they’re not all the snotty tin-water has gone.  Add them too the pan and warm them through – stir them and squash them with a big wooden spoon to form ‘a nobbly mush’.

steak05

Just before you stick the beans in, add 2 teaspoon of olive oil into a frying pan large enough for your steaks.  Warm the oil to a high heat while you do the beans.  Fry the steaks for 90 seconds on each side and remove to warmed plates.

steak03

Pour the lemon juice into the hot pan, let it bubble in the meaty oil, give it a stir and a scrape and pour over the steaks.  Add the White Bean Mash and serve, or – if you like extra washing up – put the Mash into a serving bowl and adorn it with the Rosemary and then serve.

steak01

Done in 10 minutes!  Perfect!  The steak was really nice, tender, and the lemony-meaty sauce really worked well with the beef.  Next time I’ll try and get closer to 90 seconds each side – the butter beans took a bit more mashing than I expected and I gave it longer than it should have had.  I’ll also only use Cannellini beans next time, they were tastier.  I’ll definitely also make the Beany Mash again with other things.

steak02

Flash-Fried Steak with White Bean Mash is going to become a dinnertime regular.  Thanks Nigella!

Nigella Express, by Nigella Lawson (Chatto & Windus 2007 ISBN 9780701181840)

nigella express

2 comments

    1. Thanks Jhuls! The first night we had it with the salad, then we had a night off and finished off the meatloaf I’d made the night before, then I had moussaka with brocolli, and the third night we just had it on its own. I’d have frozen some but there wasn’t space in the freezer 😦

Leave a Reply

