Week 76: Scallops with Thai-scented pea puree

I have no idea what a baby leek is. I’m assuming it’s a really really young one, but I can’t seem to be able to buy one. So I cracked open half a kilo of frozen peas and cooked this instead. Take that Jamie Oliver.

scallops2

This recipe is from Nigella’s Kitchen book, and my first time cooking Scallops. I wasn’t able to find big scallops, so I used little ones instead. I was surprised at just how much puree the recipe made; I would definitely make it with about 2/3 of the quantities.

To serve two Nigella says you need: 500g frozen petits pois,  1 – 2 tablespoons of Thai green curry paste, 75g creme fraiche, salt, 2tsp ground nut oil, 2tsp butter, 6 big scallops (or 12 little ones), juice of 1 lime, fresh coriander or Thai basil (which I obviously didn’t bother with as always)

scallops1

Boil the peas in slightly salted water until they’re tender, then drain them and tip them into the blender with the creme fraiche and green Thai paste.  Blend it all together until it looks like puree.  The heat of the peas will cook the creme fraiche and curry paste.  Keep the lid on the blender till you’re ready to serve it.

scallops3

In a frying pan heat the oil and butter until it starts to foam and then fry the scallops for 2 minutes on each side until they cool caramelised. Plate up the scallops with the warm puree and add the lime juice to the frying pan and scrape around to pick up all the scallop-y frying-y flavour.

Pour over the scallops and serve.

scallops6

I’m not entirely sure this meal was a success.  There was far too many peas – definitely 3 people’s worth, maybe 4.  I quite liked the scallops but my lover said they tasted like rubbers.  I disagree, I’ve tasted lots of rubbers.  The puree was nice, but we couldn’t finish it and I’m not allowed to make it again.

scallops4

On the plus side it was lightening quick to make after work! Can’t win em all…

Kitchen, by Nigella Lawson (Chatto & Windus 2010, ISBN 9780701184605)

Nigella Kitchen

One comment

  1. Aww, too bad you aren’t allowed to make it again? THe puree sounds delicious. I have never cooked scallops for that same reason, I don’t want to overdo it, but I suppose with everything else, it comes with practice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

