Week 84: Courgette Frittatas

Ladies and Gentlemen, my first frittata! Well actually it’s not. I thought it would be until I got further down the instructions and found that this recipe is seemingly for a load of mini frittatas. This recipe is from the good granny cookbook, so there are no pictures to aim at – but I’d seen one once in the staff canteen so I knew I should be aiming for a sort of greenish wobbly discus.  Can you tell I let my lover choose this weeks recipe?

This recipe serves two as a delicious summer lunch or four as a side dish. You will need: 350g courgettes, 1 medium onion, 2 garlic cloves, 50g self raising flour, 75g cheddar cheese, 2 eggs, milk, salt, pepper, and some oil for frying.

frittata04

First you need to grate everything. That’s the courgette, the onion and the cheese, and then crush the garlic.  Put it all in a mixing bowl with the flour and eggs and stir.  Then add some milk until the mixture becomes liquid enoug to drop from a spoon without turning soup-y, sort of like sturdy vomit.

frittata05

This is where I got confused. After heating a little oil in a large frying pan the book says you need to ‘put heaped tablespoons of the mixture into the pan and cook for 5 minutes, turning once, until brown’.  Now I read that as it ends up making tablespoon sized mini-frittatas, and also I’ve just realised that I probably should have used an actual tablespoon rather than a 15ml tablespoon measure.

frittata02

So however you interpret the instructions, turn the frittatas once and cook for 5 minutes until brown, then serve immediately with a tomato salad. I didn’t do tomato salad.

frittata01

These just weren’t very nice. They were a bit like cheese and onion crisps in squidgy pancake form; really quite bland… and they repeated on us all night. I’m not allowed to make these again!

Good Granny Cookbook by Jane Fearnley-Whittingstall (Short Books 2007 ISBN 978 1 906021 10 8)

good granny

Leave a Reply

